Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Comprehensive Forum of Canadian Armed Forces History & Militaria

James Bernard Vaughan

mk1rceme
    mk1rceme
    Administrator

James Bernard Vaughan Empty James Bernard Vaughan

Post by mk1rceme Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:17 pm

James Bernard Vaughan James%20Bernard%20Vaughan%20A James Bernard Vaughan James%20Bernard%20Vaughn%20B

I’m better known as Bernie and I was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia on 9 August 1919. My father, James Vaughan was an accountant and my mother Mary nee Lane was a housewife. I am the oldest of four children. My brother Gerald is deceased and I have two sisters, Joan and Mary. I attended College Street School, St. Mary’s High School and St. Mary’s College, all in Halifax. Before I joined the military I was an accountant, just like my Dad.

I joined the military at the Halifax Armouries and took Basic Training in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. After Basic Training I was sent to Petawawa, Halifax, Botwood Nfld and then for Officer Training in Brockville. When I left Brockville I was a Second Lieutenant. The second phase of my training was held in Petawawa and on completion of that training I was promoted to First Lieutenant. Then I was sent to Shearwater where we did the training all over again.

In 1943, I went overseas aboard the QUEEN MARY landing in Glasgow. I went to Bramshot England, France, Belgium, Holland and Germany. I returned to Halifax in February 1946 aboard the ILLE DE FRANCE.

I have no regrets and would do it all over again if I had the chance. The experiences one encounters during war cannot be found anywhere else.